pencerdd gwalia festivaL

John Thomas




1. Mared Emyr Pugh-Evans

2. Molly-Rowan Sharples

3. Cassandra Tomella

1. Llywelyn Ifan Jones

2. Elfair Grug Dyer

3. Molly-Rowan Sharples

Gŵyl Pencerdd Gwalia Festival - FINAL ROUND
Finals - 13th April 2013, Sony Theatre, Bridgend College

Junior 10:30am - 12:30pm

Senior 1:00pm - 3:00pm


Molly-Rowan Sharples

Mari Kelly

Anwen Mai Thomas

Elin Kelly

Mared Emyr Pugh-Evans

Hero Melia

Cassandra Tomella

Elain Rhys Jones


Torriad y Dydd

Morfa Rhuddlan

Bugeilio'r Gwenith Gwyn

Serch Hudol

Le Soir

Una Furtiva Lagrima

Sweet Richard

Codiad yr Haul



Molly-Rowan Sharples

Manon Browning

Bethan Griffiths

Rhiain Awel Dyer

Elfair Grug Dyer

Llywelyn Ifan Jones


Torriad y Dydd
L'espérance - Mazurka

Echoes of a Waterfall
Y Fwyalchen

Y Gadlys

Aeolian Sounds
Serch Hudol

Dafydd y Garreg Wen
Staccato Movement

Tros y Garreg

Gŵyl Pencerdd Gwalia Festival Competitor List
Junior Senior
Merthyr Tydfil - 23 March 2013 Caernarfon - 3 April 2013 Merthyr Tydfil - 23 March 2013 Caernarfon - 3 April 2013
14.00 Molly-Rowan Sharples
14.10 Nia Evans
14.20 Mared Browning
14.30 Annabelle Oliver
14.40 Jasmine Lewis
14.50 Mari Kelly
15.00 Georgia Kelly
15.10 Lucy Fflur Jones
15.20-15.35 Break
15.35 Enlli Parri
15.45 Anwen Mai Thomas
15.55 Rachel Edwards
16.05 Liberty Welch
16.15 Caitlin Prowle
16.25 Elin Kelly
16.35 Katie Bayliss
17.00 Mared Emyr Pugh-Evans
17.10 Hero Melia
17.20 Sioned Taylor
17.30 Cassandra Tomella
17.40 Nia James
17.50 Hannah Griffiths
18.00 Break
18.10 Abi Martin
18.20 Mared Jones
18.30 Medi Fflur Evans
18.40 Elain Rhys Jones
18.50 Math Roberts
19.00 Angharad Mair Williams
19.10 Nest Jenkins
19.00 Molly-Rowan Sharples
19.20 Megan Morris
19.40 Katie Bayliss
20.00 Angharad Roberts
20.20 Liv Dahren
20.40 Georgia Kelly
21.00 Manon Browning
21.20 Break
21.40 Elen Angharad Edwards
22.00 Salveigh Thoroddsen
19.45 Bethan Griffiths
20.05 Sophie Clark
20.25 Emma Spandrzyk
20.45 Rhianwen Pugh
21.05 Rhiain Awel Dyer
21.25 Elfair Dyer
21.45 Llywelyn Ifan Jones


Junior Competition - Under 17 years of age

Set piece:
Any composition, transcription or arrangement by John Thomas (Ashdown, Adlais, or any other publisher).
[See Rules & Repertoire]

Competitors are encouraged to perform by memory, and to consider choosing lesser known pieces, where possible.

First Prize  £500 Telynau Vining Harps
Second Prize £250 Alaw
Third Prize  £100 T. Merlin Maddock MBE

All contestants must be under 17 on March 1st 2013.

Closing Date:
All applications in both competitions must be received by March 1st, 2013. 

Entrance fee:
Entrance fee for each competition: £20

Harpists may compete in both competitions if they so wish. 

Preliminary Round

The preliminary round will be held in two locations: Competitors may choose the most convenient location:-

23 March 2013: As part of the Telynau Morgannwg Festival in Canolfan Soar, Merthyr Tydfil - Adjudicator Katherine Thomas
03 April 2013: As part of the Caernarfon Harp Festival in Galeri, Caernarfon - Adjudicator Katherine Thomas

The organisers will make every possible effort to supply suitable harps for those unable to bring their own instruments if an application has been made in advance.

Final Contest and Concert

13 April 2013: The Final round of both Competitions will be held at Sony Theatre, Bridgend College, Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan, CF31 3DF.
Adjudicators of the Final Round: Catrin Finch and Katherine Thomas

View Larger Map

A concert will be held in the evening at Tabernacle Chapel, Bridgend featuring the winners and other artists.

Further Information

Entry form   -   Rules & Repertoire   -    Jury   -   Organisers   -   Senior Competition Details