SM074: Singing Strings

Singing Strings
Isobel Mieras

Cover Image

12 simple tunes for the small harp composed or arranged by Isobel Mieras


Buy this music now    Score: £8.00 + p&p   

Please click here for Artist Information, Contact Details, Sheet Music & Recordings


1 Singing Strings: Beginner’s Reel

2 Howgate Waltz: written for the children of Howgate Primary School

3 An Eriskay Love Lilt

4 Triad Duet: simple root position triads make an effective accompaniment.

5 Caprice and Doloroso: Two pieces of contrasting mood. Play them as individual tunes, or join them together with a smooth lever change as Caprice- Doloroso-Caprice.

6 Brahms’ Lullaby

7 ‘Strusaidh mi na Coilleagan —The Cockle Gatherer is one of many lively and rhythmic working songs from the Gaelic tradition.

8 Old Lament: A beautiful melody in the Dorian mode found in the Gesto Collection from Skye.

9 Buain na Rainich —Pulling Bracken-yet another traditional working song, this time in rather a wistful mood.

10 An Ataireachd Ard—The Surge of the Sea: an emigrant’s longing to return home and finally be buried beside the sound of the surging sea.

11 Song without Words: originally written for a student with a temporarily disabled right hand!

Score Information

Title: Singing Strings
Composer/Arranger: Isobel Mieras
Instrumentation: Lever Harp
Level: Elementary
Format: Comb bound
Size: A4
Total Pages: 14
Our Ref: SM074
Publisher: Swanston Music
Edition/Year: 2005
Origin: UK

Sample page from the book

Sample page