Adlais 207: A Garland for the Harp

Cover Image

A Garland for the Harp
6 Preludes for solo harp

David Watkins

Publisher Adlais Music Publishers
Catalogue No. Adlais 207
ISMN M-57032-223-7
Edition Date 2014, A4 Stapled
Duration c. 7 minutes
Suitable for   Grade 6-7 Lever or Pedal Harp
Buy this music now £8.00 +p&p

return to David Watkins index

Further Information

This Suite of short and contrasted preludes can be performed consecutively or separately.
These pieces can also be used as useful studies of medium difficulty.

The score contains separate versions for Pedal Harp and Lever Harp as well as suggestions for division to enable performance by a Harp Ensemble.

I. The Rain Forest
This prelude evokes the continuous watery mist sparkling gently under the green canopy of the Rain Forest. Written to encourage a young harpist, the filagree nature of the harp writing looks complex but is in fact very easy to play and memorise.

II. Flights
These simple fragments, when linked together, imitate the flights of birds.

III. Bells
A short essay in sonority which captures the sound of pealing bells with all their attendant overtones.
(Small hands can play the lowest notes of big chords up an octave.)

IV. Games
A playful study with contrasting rhythms.

V. Laments
An ancient mode used to conjure up timeless feelings of sadness.

VI. Dances
Fragments of rhythms lead into a middle section which develops into a 'rumba' with ongoing rhythmic contrasts.

(Total playing time 7 minutes approx.)

Sample Page

Sample of the music